University Description

The Punjab Agricultural University (PAU) in Ludhiana, Punjab is a state agricultural university in India. It was established in 1962 and is the nation's third-oldest agricultural university, after Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar and Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology, Bhubaneshwar. It was formally inaugurated by the then Prime Minister of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, on July 8, 1963. It has an international reputation for excellence in agriculture. PAU pioneered the Green Revolution in India in the 1960s and is considered as one of the best agricultural universities in India.It was bifurcated in 2005 with the formation of Guru Angad Dev Veterinary and Animal Sciences University (GADVASU).


The Punjab Agricultural University was established in 1962 to serve the state of erstwhile. In 2006, the College of Veterinary Science was upgraded to become Guru Angad Dev Veterinary and Animal Science University (GADVASU) at Ludhiana.

The PAU has played a key role in increasing food grain production in the Punjab State several folds share its reputation and ushering in an era of Green Revolution in India. It has made notable contributions in increasing livestock and poultry production. In recognition of its outstanding achievements in agricultural research, education and extension, it was adjudged the Best Agricultural University in India in 1995.

The Punjab Agricultural University now has four constituent colleges, viz. College of Agriculture, College of Agricultural Engineering, College of Home science and College of Basic Sciences & Humanities.

At present the university, through 28 departments in the four constituent colleges, offers 31 Master's and 30 Ph.D. programmes. The course curricula are constantly revised and restructured to keep pace with the latest developments in agriculture and allied fields.

Courses and facilities

The university offers five bachelor's degrees, 51 master's degree and 42 doctorate programmes in 50 departments of five constituent colleges. In addition, it offers a Bachelor of Education program and five Diploma programs in its four constituent colleges:

College of Agriculture

The college of agriculture consists of following departments under it:

  • Agronomy
  • Entomology
  • Extension Education
  • Floriculture & Landscaping
  • Food Science & Technology
  • Forestry & Natural Resources
  • Fruit Science
  • Plant Breeding & Genetics
  • Plant Pathology
  • School of Agricultural Biotechnology
  • School of Climate Change & Agricultural Meteorology
  • Soil Science
  • Vegetable Science

College of Agricultural Engineering & Technology

  • Civil Engineering
  • Farm Machinery & Power Engineering
  • Processing & Food Engineering
  • School of Electrical Engineering & Information Technology
  • School of Renewable Energy Engineering
  • Soil & Water Engineering

College of Home Science

  • Food & Nutrition
  • Family Resource Management
  • Apparel and Textile Science
  • Human Development and Family Studies
  • Extension Education and Communication Management

College of Basic Sciences and Humanities

  • Department of Chemistry offers Ph.D. in Chemistry, M.Sc. in Chemistry and Five Years Integrated M.Sc. (Hons.) in Chemistry.
  • Department of Economics and Sociology offers Ph.D. and M.Sc. in Agricultural Economics and M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Sociology.
  • Department of Biochemistry offers Ph.D. in Biochemistry, M.Sc. in Biochemistry and Five Years Integrated M.Sc. (Hons.) in Biochemistry.
  • Department of Botany offers Five Years Integrated M.Sc. (Hons.), M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Botany.
  • Department of Microbiology offers Five Years Integrated M.Sc. (Hons.), M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Microbiology.
  • Department of Zoology offers Five Years Integrated M.Sc. (Hons.), M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Zoology.
  • Department of Mathematics, Statistics and Physics offers M.Sc. in Physics.
  • Department of Business Management offers MBA and Masters in Agricultural Business Management and Ph.D. in Business Management.
  • Department of Agricultural Journalism, Languages & Culture offers MJMC (Masters in Journalism and Mass Communication): and PGDAJMC (Post Graduate Diploma in Agricultural Journalism and Mass Communication).
  • School of Agricultural Biotechnology (B.Tech., M.Sc., and Ph.D. in Biotechnology); this school has the Bioinformatics Centre, which was established in 1998.
  • Department of food science and technology offers (Hons.) in food technology and Msc in food science.

Directorate of Research

  1. Technology Marketing and IPR Cell (TMIPR Cell) facilitates the filling of the patents of the new technologies, products and process developed by the scientists of Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana.
  2. TMIPR Cell facilitates the process of commercialisation of varieties and hybrids of crops.

An Institute of Agriculture was established at Gurdaspur. In 1988 the university switched from the trimester to semester system and in 1993 it switched from the letter grade system to a 10.00 credit point average system.


You need to login or signup

Login Register


You need to login or signup

Login Register